Please join us for LDSPPA’s third annual conference, featuring dozens of presentations (schedule to come soon).

Keynote speakers will include:

Brandon Sanderson
Award-winning Author

Brandon Sanderson is an American fantasy and science fiction writer. He is best known for his Mistborn series and his work in finishing Robert Jordan’s epic fantasy series The Wheel of Time. Sanderson worked as an editor for the semi-professional magazine Leading Edge while attending school at Brigham Young University, where he now periodically teaches creative writing. In 2008 Sanderson started a podcast with author Dan Wells and cartoonist Howard Tyler called Writing Excuses, involving topics about creating and producing genre writing and webcomics. His accolades include winning the Hugo Award for Best Novella (2103, The Emperor’s Soul), Goodreads Choice Awards for Best Fantasy (2010, Towers of Midnight), Hugo Award for Best Related Work (2013, Writing Excuses), and the Whitney Award for Best Speculative Fiction (2008, Mistborn: The Hero of Ages).

Sheri Dew
Author, Publisher, CEO of Deseret Book

Sheri Dew is a native of Ulysses, Kan­sas, and a graduate of Brigham Young University. She has written a number of books, including the biographies of two Presidents of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints: Presidents Gordon B. Hinckley and Ezra Taft Benson. She served from 1997 to 2002 as second counselor in the Relief Society general presidency and is CEO of Deseret Book Company and executive vice president of Deseret Management Corporation.

John S. Tanner
Professor, Author, President of BYU–Hawaii

John Tanner is the current president of Brigham Young University–Hawaii and previously served as first counselor in the General Sunday School Presidency, as a mission president in Brazil, and as Academic Vice President of BYU. Tanner began his academic career as an assistant professor at Florida State University and has also been a Fulbright Scholar. Tanner joined the BYU faculty in 1982. Tanner has focused much of his study on John Milton and his book Anxiety in Eden received the Best Book Award from the Milton Society of America in 1992. Tanner also contributed to the Encyclopedia of Mormonism, among many other published works. He is a former two-term president of the Association for Mormon Letters. He wrote the words to “Bless Our Fast, We Pray” (Hymn #138) and is also a published poet.

Wendy Ulrich, PhD
Psychologist, Author, Speaker

Wendy Ulrich, PhD, is a licensed psychologist and a former president of the Association of Mormon Counselors and Psychotherapists. She has been a visiting professor at Brigham Young University and has served on the Missionary Mental Health Committee of the LDS Church. Her books include Let God Love You, The Temple Experience, Weakness is Not Sin, Forgiving Ourselves, and The Why of Work (a Wall Street Journal #1 best seller, co-authored with her husband, Dave Ulrich). She is the founder of Sixteen Stones Center for Growth, offering seminar-retreats for LDS women and their loved ones ( Wendy and Dave have three children and eight grandchildren.